News

Kurt Bensmiller Opens Up 2017 Medicine Hat Stampede With The Top Time


Kurt Bensmiller - First Place To Open Medicine Hat
Photo By Carol Easton

After a great 4 days of running in Saskatoon, the WPCA Pro Tour resumed on Thursday night with the running of the Medicine Hat Exhibition & Stampede in Medicine Hat, Alberta. Track conditions were perfect and the races were run under warm temperatures with a slight wind. Doug Irvine came into this year’s event as the defending Medicine Hat champion, but it was Kurt Bensmiller who opened up the show with the top time of 1:01.45.

Coming off barrel number 2 in heat number 12, Kurt Bensmiller, driving the Spider Electric outfit placed first overall for the day by just 8 one-hundredths of a second over Chanse Vigen who placed 2nd on the night. Luke Tournier, Doug Irvine and Evan Salmond rounded out the top 5 for the night.

The top 3 drivers in the aggregate after Saturday night will go into Sunday’s championship final heat. Winner of Sunday’s final wins the 2017 Medicine Hat Exhibition & Stampede Championship.

Day 2 of the Medicine Hat Exhibition & Stampede can be heard live on Friday, June 16, 2017 starting at 9:00pm Eastern, 8:00pm Central, and 7:00pm Mountain time Thursday through Saturday with a matinee performance on Sunday at 4:00pm Eastern, 3:00pm Central, and 2:00pm Mountain time at Rural Radio on SiriusXM Channel 147, 96.5 CKFM out of Olds, Alberta or on Country 99 at 99.7 FM out of Bonnyville, Alberta.

Billy Melville


Grey Eagle Casino 728x90