News

Gary Gorst Takes Second Consecutive Day Money On Night 3 In Saskatoon


Gary Gorst - Takes Second Consecutive Day Money At Ashley Richards Memorial
Photo By Paul Easton

Saturday night at Prairieland Park in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan was a little cooler than on the previous two nights for the fifth running of the Ashley Richards Memorial presented by Dakota Dunes Casino. Racetrack conditions were back to being excellent, and for the second consecutive night, Gary Gorst topped the field with the fast run on the night with a 1:17.60.

From barrel number two in the second heat, Gorst, driving the HJR Asphalt outfit, was the day money winner by 33 one-hundredths of a second better than Jason Glass who won second place on the night. Kirk Sutherland, Codey McCurrach and Rick Fraser filled out the top five on the night.

The day money run has now vaulted Gary Gorst to the top of the aggregate standings with a three-day combined time of 3:56.53. That puts him 36 one-hundredths of a second better than “The Hound” Codey McCurrach with Troy Dorchester, Troy Flad and Logan Gorst completing the top five wagons after three nights of running. The driver posting the best 4-day aggregate time after Sunday’s run will be declared the champion of the 2017 Ashley Richards Memorial presented by Dakota Dunes Casino.

The final day of the Ashley Richards Memorial presented by Dakota Dunes Casino can be heard live on Sunday, June 11, 2017 at 4:00pm Eastern, 3:00pm Central, and 2:00pm Mountain time on Rural Radio on SiriusXM Channel 147, 96.5 CKFM out of Olds, Alberta or on Country 99 at 99.7 FM out of Bonnyville, Alberta.

Billy Melville

 


2016 Fortis Alberta 728x90