Calgary Stampede Announces Lineup For 2017 GMC Rangeland Derby

The Calgary Stampede has contacted the 36 drivers who have been invited to compete at the 2017 GMC Rangeland Derby. Numerous factors were taken into consideration to determine the 36 drivers. A total of 29 were selected from drivers who competed on the WPCA Pro Tour in 2016, with the remaining 7 spots going to drivers who competed on the Canadian Professional Chuckwagon Association circuit.

Of the 36 drivers invited, Dustin Gorst and Cody Ridsdale will each be competing in their first GMC Rangeland Derby and will be trying for the Orville Strandquist Memorial Top Rookie Driver Award. As well, the 2017 GMC Rangeland Derby will mark the 45th start and final Calgary Stampede for twelve-time champion Kelly Sutherland.

At this time the Calgary Stampede has not selected the drivers for the demonstration race (chuckwagon 101), but have stated that they are looking forward to having two drivers again in 2017. The Calgary Stampede will run from July 6 - 17, 2017. Kirk Sutherland will go into this year's event as the defending champion.

Billy Melville

In alphabetical order, the drivers invited are (WPCA drivers in bold):

Todd Baptiste
Chance Bensmiller
Kurt Bensmiller
Colt Cosgrave

Troy Dorchester
Dallas Dyck
Chad Fike
Jordie Fike
Darcy Flad
Troy  Flad
Rick Fraser
Jason Glass
Dustin Gorst
Gary Gorst
Logan Gorst

Chad Harden
Barry Hodgson
Doug Irvine
Jamie Laboucane
Layne MacGillivray
Codey McCurrach
Ray Mitsuing
Kris Molle
Roger Moore
Obrey Motowylo
Vern Nolin
Cody Ridsdale
Evan Salmond
Kelly Sutherland
Kirk Sutherland
Mark Sutherland
Mitch Sutherland
Luke Tournier
Chanse Vigen
Mike Vigen
John Walters