Kelly Morin Scores The Top Time On Night 2 Of The WPCA Qualification Run-Off

Kelly Morin - Tops The Field On Night Two In Dewberry
Photo By Fred Vidiuk

2019 WPCA Qualification Run-Off Point Standings
Rank Driver Points
1 Kris Molle 19
2 Layne Flad 19
3 Curtis Morin 19
4 Dayton Sutherland 18.5
5 Chance Bensmiller 18
6 Kelly Morin 16
7 Lane Tournier 14.5
8 Cody Fraser 11
9 Erik Tremblay 9
10 Blaid Flad 6
11 Roy Romanow 4
12 Louis Stanley 2
Note: Ties are broken by Aggregate Time.


For the drivers trying to qualify for the for 2020 WPCA Pro Tour, night 2 of the annual WPCA Qualification Run-Off ran Friday night in Dewberry, Alberta. This time it was the 2014 WPCA Top Rookie Driver Kelly Morin's turn to shine as he had the top time of the day with a run of 1:08.40.

Coming off barrel number 2 in the 2nd heat, Morin, driving the Oly's Trading Post & Trucking outfit, was fastest on the night by 42 one-hundredths of a second over 2019 Battle of the Rockies Champion Dayton Sutherland. Curtis Morin, Kris Molle and Layne Flad's outfit, driven by Darcy Flad, filled out the top five on the night.

After 2 runs, KrisMolle, Layne Flad and Curtis Morin lead the Qualification Run-Off Standings with 18 points each, followed by Dayton Sutherland with 18.5 points, Chance Bensmiller with 18 points and Kelly Morin with 16 points.

The top 30 wagons from the 2019 WPCA Pro Tour automatically qualify for the 2020 WPCA Pro Tour. All other wagons who would like to earn the privilege to compete on the 2020 WPCA Pro Tour must do so through the qualification run off. This year's qualification run off will feature 12 drivers competing for 6 spots in the 2020 lineup. The format is 6 heats of two wagons per heat.

The 2019 Qualification Run Off races will run at 7:00pm from Thursday through Saturday with Sundays races starting at 2:00pm.

Billy Melville