News

Final Four Set AT The Battle Of The North; Dustin Gorst Takes Day Money On Day 3

Dustin Gorst - Fast Time On Night 3 In Dawson Creek
Photo By Fred Vidiuk

The final 4 that will compete in Sunday’s sudden death championship final heat where the winner will take home the 2019 Battle of the North Championship has now been set. Chanse Vigen, Kurt Bensmiller, Ross Knight and Dustin Gorst will battle it out for the 2019 championship of Dawson Creek, British Columbia.

Chanse Vigen drove the Sundown Oilfield Services outfit to a first place overall aggregate finish after posting the best 3-day aggregate time of 4:16.55. Vigen will receive the use of a 2019 GMC Pickup Truck as the Battle of the North Aggregate Winner. Kurt Bensmiller qualified in 2nd place overall exactly 1/2 second behind the leader Chanse Vigen, with defending champion Ross Knight qualifying in 3rd place overall, and Dustin Gorst grabbing 4th place overall to take the final spot in Monday’s final. World Points leader Vern Nolin placed 5th overall and missed a spot in Sunday’s final by 85 one-hundreds of a second.

As far as the day results go, Dustin Gorst, driving the Grande Prairie Airport Outfit, posted the top time of the night with a run of 1:23.15 from barrel number 2 in the 5th heat. Kirk Sutherland finished in second place on the night, just 11 one-hundredths of a second behind the day winner Dustin Gorst.  Chanse Vigen and Ross Knight placed third and fourth respectively, while Darcy Flad and Kurt Bensmiller split fifth and sixth place on the evening.

You can watch the finals of the Battle of the North Championship from Dawson Creek, British Columbia live on FloRodeo starting at 8:00pm Eastern, 7:00pm Central, and 6:00pm Mountain time.

Billy Melville

 


FORTIS AD 2019