News

Chanse Vigen Tops The Field On Night 2 Of Guy Weadick Days


Chanse Vigen - Number 1 On Night 2 In High River
Photo By Fred Vidiuk

After inclement weather forced the cancellation of the Friday night races, Saturday went off without a hitch. It was a warm but cloudy night in High River, Alberta as day 2 of Guy Weadick Days was run on Saturday night. When the night wrapped up, it was 2019 Saskatoon World Chuckwagon Races Champion Chanse Vigen who emerged with the top time of the night after a fast run of 1:17.58.

Coming off barrel number 4 in heat number 5, Vigen, driving the High River Autoplex & RV outfit, was the fast man on the night by a large 1.3 second margin second over day 1 winner Doug Irvine who settled for second place on the night from the same heat. Layne MacGillivray placed third, while Vern Nolin and Luke Tournier rounded out the top 5 runs on the night.

After 2 days, Doug Irvine tops the overall aggregate standings after a 2 run total of 2:37.82. That puts him 64 one-hundredths of a second in front of 1981 High River champion Kirk Sutherland, with Logan Gorst, Vern Nolin and Luke Tournier filling out the top 5 overall. The driver posting the best 3-day aggregate time after Sunday’s run will be declared the champion of the 2019 Guy Weadick Day Championship.

Tune into the finals of Guy Weadick Days from High River on Sunday afternoon, June 23, 2019, on WPCA Radio starting 6:00pm Eastern, 5:00pm Central, and 4:00pm Mountain time on Rural Radio on SiriusXM Channel 147 Satellite Radio, Country 99 in Bonnyville, and Real Country 910am.

Billy Melville

 

 


FORTIS AD 2019