News

Logan Gorst Opens Up Saskatoon 2019 With The Top Time

Logan Gorst - Day Money Run On Night 1 In Saskatoon
Photo By Paul Easton

It was a successful opening night at Prairieland Park in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan for the seventh running of the Saskatoon World Chuckwagon Races where Kurt Bensmiller came into this year’s event as the defending champion. It was a hot and breezy Thursday night under partially cloudy skies with excellent racetrack conditions. When opening night wrapped up, for the second consecutive year it was Saskatchewan native Logan Gorst who had the fast time of the night with a run of 1:16.97.

From barrel number two in the eighth heat, Gorst, driving the Plains North outfit, was the day money winner by 40 one-hundredths of a second over Codey McCurrach who settled for second place on the night. Defending champion Kurt Bensmiller was third, Vern Nolin was fourth, with John Walters rounding out the top five on the night.

The driver posting the best 4-day aggregate time after Sunday’s run will be declared the champion of the 2019 Saskatoon World Chuckwagon.

Night 2 of the Saskatoon World Chuckwagon Races can be heard live on Friday night, June 7, 2019 at 9:00pm Eastern, 8:00pm Central, and 7:00pm Mountain time on Rural Radio on SiriusXM Channel 147 Satellite Radio, Country 99 in Bonnyville, and Real Country 910am.

Billy Melville

 

 

 

 


FLO 728 X 90