News

Final Four Set At 2018 Ponoka Stampede

Vern Nolin - Tops All On Night 5 In Ponoka
Photo By Carol Easton

It was Semi Final Sunday at the 2018 Ponoka Stampede as eight drivers running in two heats were trying to survive the semi-final round and looking for a spot in Monday’s TrailBlazer RV Centre’s $50,000.00 Tommy Dorchester Championship Final Heat.

When it all played out, aggregate winner Vern Nolin, Kirk Sutherland, Jason Glass and Kurt Bensmiller survived the semi-final round and will comprise the $50,000.00 Tommy Dorchester Championship final heat. Troy Dorchester ended up in the crying hole and missed the winner-take-all final by 30 one-hundredths of a second. Cliff Cunningham, Evan Salmond and Chanse Vigen also competed in Sunday night’s semi final round.

On the day, it was Vern Nolin who won the day money with the fast time of the week with a penalty free run of 1:15.01. From barrel number one in the seventh heat on the evening, Nolin, driving the Vold, Jones & Vold Auction Co. Ltd. outfit was the fast man on the day by 20 one-hundredths of a second over Rick Fraser. Third place belonged to Kirk Sutherland, with Jason Glass and Obrey Motowylo filling out the top five on the night.

The Finals of the Ponoka Stampede Championship can be heard on WPCA Pro Tour LIVE on Monday night, July 2, 2018 at 8:00pm Eastern, 7:00pm Central, and 6:00pm Mountain time on Rural Radio Channel 147 on SiriusXM,  96.5 CKFM out of Olds, Alberta or on Country 99 at 99.7 FM out of Bonnyville, Alberta, or watch live stream on FloRodeo.com.

Billy Melville


 


2016 Wrangler Advanced Comfort