News

Jason Glass Opens Up 2018 Ponoka Stampede With The Top Run


Jason Glass - Tops All On Opening Night In Ponoka
Photo By Carol Easton

Wednesday night saw the running of the first leg of chuckwagon racing’s unofficial “Triple Crown” at one of chuckwagon racing’s biggest and most prestigious events – the Ponoka Stampede. It was a perfect night of chuckwagon racing with fast times and close finishes were the order of the evening. Jason Glass opened up the 2018 Ponoka Stampede with the fast time of the night with a 1:15.23.

Coming off barrel number 4 in the 6th heat, Glass - driving the Birchcliff Energy Ltd. outfit - placed first on the night by 26 one-hundredths of a second over John Walters. Former Ponoka Stampede Champion Chad Harden placed third, with Mark Sutherland and Cliff Cunningham rounding out the top five for the night.

The top 8 in the aggregate after Saturday night’s run will go into the semi-final round on Sunday in heats 8 and 9. The top 4 times from the semi-final round on July 1 will go into the TrailBlazer RV Centre $50,000.00 Tommy Dorchester Championship Final Heat where the winner will take home the 2018 Ponoka Stampede Championship.

Day 2 of the Ponoka Stampede Championship can be heard on WPCA Pro Tour LIVE on Thursday night, June 28, 2018 at 9:00pm Eastern, 8:00pm Central, and 7:00pm Mountain time on Rural Radio on SiriusXM Channel 147,  96.5 CKFM out of Olds, Alberta or on Country 99 at 99.7 FM out of Bonnyville, Alberta.

Billy Melville


2016 Fortis Alberta 728x90