News

Gary Gorst Vaults To The Top The Leaderboard After A Day Money Run On Night 3 In Strathmore


Gary Gorst - Looking For A Title Defence In Strathmore
Photo By Carol Easton

It was a hot and sunny Sunday evening as day 3 of the Strathmore Stampede was run in front of a capacity crowd. When the dust settled and times were calculated, defending Strathmore Stampede Champion Gary Gorst was the best of the bunch after posting the fast time of the race meet so far with a run of 1:14.18.

In the seventh heat of the afternoon, Gorst’s TCB Trailer Services, from barrel position number 2, won top money on the day, just 16 one-hundredths of a second faster than Luke Tournier. Doug Irvine grabbed third spot on the night, Cody Ridsdale was fourth, and Kurt Bensmiller filled out the top 5 on the evening.

With just one run to go to determine the 2017 Strathmore Stampede Champion, Gary Gorst has put himself in a great position to defend his title as he moves to the top of the leaderboard with a 3-run total of 3:45.32. Gorst sits 82 one-hundredths of a second ahead of son Logan Gorst, with two-time Strathmore champion Jason Glass in third, Mitch Sutherland in fourth and John Walters completing the top five after three runs. The driver posting the best 4-day aggregate time will be crowned the 2017 Strathmore Heritage Days Stampede champion.

The finals of the Strathmore Stampede will conclude Monday afternoon at 1:00pm local time, but the broadcast can be heard Monday night, August 7, 2017 starting at 9:00pm ET, 8:00pm CT and 7:00pm MT on Rural Radio on SiriusXM Channel 147, and Country 99 at 99.7 FM out of Bonnyville.

Billy Melville

 


2016 Fortis Alberta 728x90