News

Mitch Sutherland Takes Top Time On Night 2 Of The 2017 Strathmore Stampede

?Mitch Sutherland - Takes the Day Money On Night 2 In Strathmore
Photo By Carol Easton

It was another outstanding night of chuckwagon racing both weather and race wise as day 2 of the Strathmore Stampede was run on Saturday night. On a night where the WPCA honored the late Jim Bottomley, racetrack conditions were excellent, and some fantastic finishes were witnessed by the Strathmore fans, and Mitch Sutherland came out on top with the fast run of the night with a run of 1:14.53.

From barrel position number 2 in the 3rd heat, Sutherland and his Strathmore Motor Products rig were 16 one-hundredths of a second faster than defending Strathmore Stampede champion Gary Gorst who took home second place on the night. Chanse Vigen, Luke Tournier and Logan Gorst filled out the top 5 on the night.

After 2 runs, Chanse Vigen’s Driving Force Outfit tops all with a two-day combined time of 2:30.61. That’s puts him a mere 4 one-hundredths of a second ahead of Mitch Sutherland, with Logan Gorst, John Walters and Gary Gorst in close pursuit. The driver posting the best 4-day aggregate time will be crowned the 2017 Strathmore Heritage Days Stampede champion.

Night 3 of the Strathmore Stampede can be heard live on Sunday, August 6, 2017 starting at 9:00pm ET, 8:00pm CT and 7:00pm MT on Rural Radio on SiriusXM Channel 147, and Country 99 at 99.7 FM out of Bonnyville.

Billy Melville

 


2016 GMC Canyon Static728x90