Logan Gorst, Kurt Bensmiller, Obrey Motowylo and Chanse Vigen In 2017 GMC Rangeland Derby Championship Final

Logan Gorst - Goes Into Calgary's Sunday's Final In First Place
Photo By Carol Easton

It was hot evening of racing both weather wise and excitement wise on night 9 at the Calgary Stampede GMC Rangeland Derby. After two very exciting semi-final heats, the championship final heat for the 2017 Calgary GMC Stampede Rangeland Derby Championship has now been set as Logan Gorst, Kurt Bensmiller, Obrey Motowylo and Chanse Vigen will make up the championship final heat. 2012 GMC Rangeland Derby Champion Troy Dorchester was the odd man out, just 54 one-hundredths of a second out of a spot in Sunday’s final. Evan Salmond, defending champion Kirk Sutherland and Chad Harden – who would have grabbed a spot in the final buit received a penalty, were the other chuckwagon drivers that also competed in Semi Final Saturday.

Injured driver Jamie Laboucane’s Rogers Communications outfit, driven by Chance Bensmiller, won the day money with the top time of the race meet after posting a 1:10.52 from barrel number four in the sixth heat. That put him 54 one-hundredths of a second ahead of semi finalist Logan Gorst, followed by Mark Sutherland, Vern Nolin and Kelly Sutherland who filled out the top five for the night.

The final day of the 2017 GMC Rangeland Derby can be heard starting at 7:30 on Sunday, July 16, 2017 on Rural Radio on SiriusXM Channel 147, Country 99 at 99.7 FM out of Bonnyville, and AM 700 The Light out of Calgary. Television coverage can be seen on SHAW TV starting at 11:00, and live on CBC and Sportsnet One, and live streaming on and all ten nights starting at 8:00pm.

Billy Melville


2016 Wrangler Advanced Comfort