News

Kurt Bensmiller Takes The Lead After A Day Money Run On Night 3 Of The Ponoka Stampede


Kurt Bensmiller - Takes The Lead On Night 3 In Ponoka
Photo By Carol Easton

It was a perfect Friday night at the Ponoka Stampede, as night 3 produced was arguably the best overall night of racing all season long in front of a capacity crowd at one of chuckwagon racing’s biggest events.  When times were tabulated for the night, it was 2014 Ponoka Stampede Champion Kurt Bensmiller who emerged as the day money winner after posting a 1:15.01 from barrel number 1 in the final heat on the evening.

Bensmiller’s time was 13 one-hundredths of a second faster than Layne MacGillivray who placed second in the third performance. Doug Irvine and Gary Gorst followed in third and fourth place respectively, with Chad Harden completing out the top five on the night.

In the race for the top eight, Kurt Bensmiller and his Versatile Energy Services Ltd. outfit now leads the overall aggregate with a three-run total of 3:45.32. That puts him one tenth of a second ahead of Gary Gorst, with defending champion Colt Cosgrave, Kirk Sutherland and Chad Harden in close pursuit. Logan Gorst, Layne MacGillivray and Layne Bremner complete the top 8, with Evan Salmond and Rick Fraser just on the outside looking in.

The top 8 in the aggregate after Saturday’s night’s run will go into the semi-final round on Saturday night in heats 8 and 9. The top 4 times from the semi-final round on July 2 will go into the $50,000.00 Tommy Dorchester Sudden Death Championship final heat where the winner will take home the 2017 Ponoka Stampede Championship.

Day 4 of the Ponoka Stampede Championship can be heard on WPCA Pro Tour LIVE on Saturday night, July 1, 2017 at 9:00pm Eastern, 8:00pm Central, and 7:00pm Mountain time on Rural Radio on SiriusXM Channel 147, 96.5 CKFM out of Olds, Alberta or on Country 99 at 99.7 FM out of Bonnyville, Alberta..

Billy Melville


2016 Wrangler Advanced Comfort