News

Layne Bremner Vaults To The Top Of The Pack On Night 2 Of The Ponoka Stampede


Layne Bremner - 1st Place In All Categories On Night 2 Of The Ponoka Stampede
Photo By Carol Easton

It was a hot Thursday night at the Ponoka Stampede, as night 2 was run off in front of a capacity crowd. Racetrack conditions were excellent, and some thrilling races were watched by the Ponoka chuckwagon fans. When the night wrapped up, it was Layne Bremner who posted the fast time of the night with a 1:14.19.

Coming off barrel number 3 in the 3rd heat, Bremner - driving the Horseshoe Paving Ltd. outfit - placed first on the night by 96 one-hundredths of a second over Evan Salmond. Chad Harden and Colt Cosgrave followed in third and fourth place respectively, with Kirk Sutherland rounding out the top five on the night.

The day money run has vaulted Layne Bremner into first place in the overall aggregate with a two-run total of 2:28.87. That puts him 1.42 seconds ahead of the defending Ponoka Stampede Champion Colt Cosgrave, with Gary Gorst, Kurt Bensmiller and Kirk Sutherland in close pursuit. Evan Salmond, Chad Harden  and Logan Gorst complete the top 8, with Obrey Motowylo and Rick Fraser just on the outside looking in.

The top 8 in the aggregate after Saturday night’s run will go into the semi-final round on Sunday night in heats 8 and 9. The top 4 times from the semi-final round on July 2 will go into the $50,000.00 Tommy Dorchester Sudden Death Championship final heat where the winner will take home the 2017 Ponoka Stampede Championship.

Day 3 of the Ponoka Stampede Championship can be heard on WPCA Pro Tour LIVE on Friday night, June 30, 2017 at 9:00pm Eastern, 8:00pm Central, and 7:00pm Mountain time on Rural Radio on SiriusXM Channel 147,  96.5 CKFM out of Olds, Alberta or on Country 99 at 99.7 FM out of Bonnyville, Alberta..

Billy Melville


2016 GMC Canyon Static728x90