News

Gary Gorst Opens Up 2017 Ponoka Stampede With A Day Money Run


Gary Gorst - Tops All On Opening Night In Ponoka
Photo By Carol Easton

Wednesday night saw the running of the first leg of chuckwagon racing’s unofficial “Triple Crown” at one of chuckwagon racing’s biggest and most prestigious events – the Ponoka Stampede. It was a cool night with a little rain,  but an entertaining evening of racing for the Ponoka Stampede fans nonetheless. Gary Gorst opened up the 2017 Ponoka Stampede with the fast time of the night with a 1:13.73.

Coming off barrel number 2 in the 5th heat, Gorst - driving the Wolf Creek Resort outfit - placed first on the night by 59 one-hundredths of a second over Chanse Vigen. Last week’s Guy Weadick Days Champion Kurt Bensmiller and Layne Bremner split placed third and fourth, with Rick Fraser rounding out the top five for the night.

The top 8 in the aggregate after Saturday night’s run will go into the semi-final round on Sunday in heats 8 and 9. The top 4 times from the semi-final round on July 2 will go into the $50,000.00 Tommy Dorchester Championship Final Heat where the winner will take home the 2017 Ponoka Stampede Championship.

Day 2 of the Ponoka Stampede Championship can be heard on WPCA Pro Tour LIVE on Thursday night, June 29, 2016 at 9:00pm Eastern, 8:00pm Central, and 7:00pm Mountain time on Rural Radio on SiriusXM Channel 147,  96.5 CKFM out of Olds, Alberta or on Country 99 at 99.7 FM out of Bonnyville, Alberta..

Billy Melville


2016 GMC Canyon Static728x90